Email Us

Youth Chinese Test (YCT)

The Youth Chinese Test (YCT) is an international standardised test of Chinese language proficiency. It assesses young foreign students' abilities to use Chinese in their daily and academic lives. Compared with the HSK exam, the YCT is designed for young people and begins to measure proficiency at a lower level than the HSK. As students progress in their study of Chinese, they may continue to measure their proficiency by taking the HSK.

YCT consists of a writing test and a speaking test, which are independent of each other. The writing test is divided into four levels, namely, the YCT (level I), YCT (level II), YCT (level III), and YCT (level IV). The speaking test is divided into the YCT (Beginner Level) and YCT (Intermediate Level).

YCT Level 1

Test takers who are able to pass the YCT (Level I) can understand and use some of the most common Chinese phrases and sentences and possess the ability to further their Chinese language studies.

YCT Level 2

Test takers who are able to pass the YCT (Level II) can understand and use some simple Chinese phrases and sentences and cope with basic level communications.

YCT Level 3

Test takers who are able to pass the YCT (Level III), having reached an excellent level in basic Chinese, can communicate on familiar daily topics in a simple manner.

YCT Level 4

Test takers who are able to pass the YCT (Level IV) can communicate in Chinese at a basic level in their daily, academic and professional lives. When travelling in China, they can manage most forms of communication in Chinese.

YCT proficiency compared to other systems

Proficiency levels according to the YCT system can be compared with HSKK, BCT, YCT and with levels according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR), the Interagency Language Roundtable scale (ILR) and the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages (CLPS). The indicative relation is as shown in next table.


Free Trial YCT